h1

The Importance of Social Networking Sites!

February 27, 2010

So I am admitting that I have learned more about the PR field from Twitter than I have ever thought I would before! While on Twitter this week I saw that someone tweeted about the U.S. military and their encouragement of using social networking sites. As you can read in the article, Pentagon issues new policy on social networking, the U.S. military network will now all social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, etc. because of the powerful impact of these sites. Having a roommate who is engaged to a military man oversees I can see why sites such as Facebook, Skype, and blogging have become such a big deal. In this situation their use is more personal but the use for marketing and recruitment is just as noteworthy.

3 comments

  1. I agree, I think it’s rediculous how much the blogging/social networking world has bloomed over the years (especailly the last 2-3). I see it as being both negative and positive. Negative first..many bad roomers about individuals have been instigated through such sites..there have been instances of people being fired/fined at their jobs as a result of info. they posted on a social networking site…There are some positives however…these sites can work the other way and help someone land a job or get their work out their and can act as another sort of resume so to speak…It’s also a great way for companies to look at the public opinion about their work/product/etc…I guess it just matter which way you look at it…for me I’m still learning and trying to be careful with what I post/blogg about.


  2. […] Anna’s Blogging Adventure, Link: https://annalg.wordpress.com/2010/02/27/the-importance-of-social-networking-sites/#respond     I agree, I think it’s rediculous how much the blogging/social networking world has […]


  3. I loved this post. I thought it was so interesting, especially the article on the military. Usually when you think about the military you think of them doing there own thing and not conforming to the things going on in society. I do think it is very smart move for them to get involved with social media. I for one, can’t imagine my life without social media being a part of it. I love facebook and skype. They help me keep in contact with friends easily. I love how I can see my friends and family even if I am far away. It makes me miss them a little less.
    Happy blogging!
    Haley



Leave a comment