h1

TOW: Week 4

February 6, 2010

Since I am not the best writer this NewsU Cleaning Your Copy defiantly helped me in realizing what areas I was weak with. The set up of the course was useful since you took a quiz first, which then showed you what areas you should focus more time on reviewing. The four main areas discussed in this course were Grammar, Style, Punctuation, and Spelling. The ones that I struggle with the most are grammar and spelling. With grammar simple knowledge of information like, “Who and whom refer to people. That and which refer to animals or things” a paper can be dramatically improved. Sending a press release or any other information out to a client as a public relations professional would be embarrassing. I was surprised at how many grammatical errors that I made on the final “C.Q. Test.” It’s easy to try to fix something that doesn’t need to be fixed or miss an error. From this I am realizing more and more how important the AP Style Book is and how important it is to always review your work. I am sure that the more I review my work this semester the better I will become in the areas I am week in. I would love to learn more about how to fix the errors that I commonly use. In the spelling section of the program spelled out the differences between confusing word pairs and homonyms. Two words that I personally have trouble with are affect and effect. The program stated that, “As a rule, affect is a verb; effect is a noun. Affect, as a verb, means to influence….Affect, as a noun, is best avoided. It occasionally is use in psychology to describe and emotion. Effect, as a verb, means to cause…Effect, as a noun, means result…” I definitely rely too much on Word to correct my grammar and spelling errors.

Leave a Reply

