h1

Interaction is key in the world of blogging…

February 6, 2010

Here are my comments on the blogs of other students in Nixon’s PR Writing 3330 class. These students blogs can be found on Barbara Nixon’s blog Public Relations Matters.

#1 Written on Caroline Rawlins’s blog about “Smoke Out for Lung Cancer”

Hey Caroline! I think that Alpha Delta Pi’s philanthropy is great! You will defiantly see me at the Smoke Out for Lung Cancer barbeque! Where could students who don’t know any ADPi’s buy tickets? And Is the American Cancer Fund one of your chapter’s national or local philanthropies? Also thanks for mentioning Kappa Delta’s War of the Wings! It is important that as Greeks we all support each other’s philanthropies in order to raise awareness and funds. And you’re right if we all work together we can change the image of Greek Life as a whole! Good luck doing PR for Panhellenic, you are doing a great job! I’m sure this class is giving you a lot of new ideas!

# 2 Written on Lindsay Addison’s blog about “FACEBOOK Mobile Now Bigger than TWITTER”

Lindsay this is a very interesting article! I can see why this has become such a big epidemic! Almost everyone has a Facebook and a cell phone (especially our generation) so linking them together was a genius marketing move. It’s crazy to think that “[i]ndividuals spend more than 55 minutes per day” on Facebook. That ends up being over 334 hours a year that an individual devotes to social interaction purely online. Twitter has defiantly became a competitor but Facebook I think will always hold a larger market with all of the special features they have.

P.S. Your blog is great! I love all the pictures and videos; the overall blog is very aesthetically appealing!

  

# 3 Written on Haley Barne’s blog about “Twitter thoughts”

Haley I love that you wrote, “Now I can stalk them on Twitter AND on Facebook.”  I definitely agree with you that Twitter can be another source for news. Looking at my news feed on Twitter I have already learned a lot that has been going on in the world along with how people really feel about the topics. I don’t know if you have already added news sites like CNN but they are constantly updating about the most current information. The re-tweet button helps in the spread of news in a matter of seconds!

#4 Written on Carrie Abramson’s blog about “Tiger Woods and his publicity team”

It shows that no matter how much work a PR professional does the client still has to coraperate in the way were his/her actions match their own words. A lot of celebrities could avoid the negative press they receive if they actually just did what they said they were going to do. Just as you pointed out Carrie, Tiger is letting others run his life so he can “look good” to the media when he should be thinking about his emotions and the emotions of the people he hurt. I guess this is a good point to remember this emotional appeal if you ever are in charge of PR for any well known person!

#5 Written on Allie Harington’s blog about “Super Bowl Ads-Week 5″Hey Allie! I agree with you and think that the Doritos commercial was really funny. I thought it was cute how protective the little boy was over his mom and his Doritos. Did you know that this commercial was part of the Doritos contest? All of Doritos commercials were made by people who made and then submitted them. The ones aired were the chosen favorites and if the commercial ranked number one out of all the Super Bowl commercials then they would win $5 million. Last year’s commercials were also done through this contest and the men who submitted the Doritos commercial with the snow globe and snack machine won $1 million.

#6 Written on Carrie Abramson’s blog about “Reality Shows and PR ”

Bethenny Frankel has definitely found the perfect way to advertise her SkinnyGirl Margarita. And I love the fact that you went out and tried it this past week! It is crazy to me to think about how many subliminal messages that are out there that we never even pick up on. Almost every single TV show out there has product placements in it. It also makes me wonder how much money these companies pay to have their product on these shows. Being a reality star definitely has its perks for Bethenny Frankel; free advertising is an advantage! It would be interesting to do research on how many products are placed within each television series!

#7 Written on Carrie Abramson’s blog about “TOW 13”

Carrie this video at the end of this is hilarious! After reading and writing all about this topic the video makes so much since. The ending is great as the therapist tells them they are soul mate. PR and journalism would have a hard time functioning without each other. Another aspect that makes it hard for public relations professionals to “make friends” with the journalist is that PR is given a bad reputation. Without even giving a new PR professional a chance journalist can automatically can jump to conclusions- hints the “she always spins stuff” mentioned in this video clip. Great find and blog post!

#8 Written on Lindsay Addison ‘s blog about “Happy Birthday Youtube”

I can’t believe that YouTube is 5 years old! I also can’t believe Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance” is the top played video on YouTube. YouTube has become a phenomenon that practically every field can use. Many of my professors use YouTube as an educational supplement and I have posted several YouTube videos to my own blog for our class.  I don’t know what we would do without YouTube now. I personally use it for so many things and have it book marked on my Blackberry.

It also cracks me up to see how YouTube has reached every generation. Over Christmas break I came home to my dad telling me I had to watch this video on YouTube. It will be interesting to see how YouTube continues to evolve over the next couple of years!

#9 Written on Lindsay Addison’s blog about “TMZ’s Harvey Levin “What’s a Pinot” at Dancing with the Stars Kate Gosselin question to Nuttin’ But Stringz”

Kate Gosselin has definitely caused a public relations uproar while being on “Dancing with the Stars.” Her publicist I’m sure has his/her hands full with keeping up with all the stories, comments, and news feeds that have featured Kate as a hot topic of discussion. I’m not going to lie, when I saw that Kate Gosselin was going to be on the show I wanted to watch this season. I only saw her on the first episode and I was not all that impressed. I felt like she was stressed out and not excited to be on the show. But if I was in her position raising that many children and dealing all the paparazzi that swarm her every move I probably would be stressed to. If you have a chance go back and check out her old photos from when “Jon and Kate Plus Eight” first aired—it is crazy to see how much the effect of the media has changed her look!

#10 Written on Haley Barnes’s blog about “Next possible princess?”

Haley I am right there with you! If they get married I can’t wait to see their wedding (we can watch it together)! I had the “celebrity” crush on him when I was younger. I loved hearing all about Princess Diana so of course I knew about her son. I just hope that the royals treat her better than they treated Diana. I would imagine that it has to be hard always growing up in the media spotlight.  I’ll have to come over and read that issue so I can catch up on what is going on!

#11 Written on Lindsay Addison’s blog about “Phonathon is Back in Action…”

I think it is great that you all’s chapter was able to host the phone-a-thon again this year! I remember reading the National Phi Mu magazine in the Greek Life Office last year and seeing the feature article on the Kappa Mu chapter. It amazes me how much money can be raised from simply making phone calls. It shows that living out “positive PR” and creating a network can come in handy when it comes to people donating money. The public relations field covers more aspects than we often think it does. I hope that this year’s phone-a-thon went as well as last year’s!!!

#12 Written on Haley Barnes’s blog about “Ten Tips to Bloggers :-)”

Great list Haley! I love that you haven’t just given the facts but made your list personable. That is a key factor in writing a blog.

 I agree with Chris in saying that I would be furious if I found out that someone was posting my information without giving me create. I have a new-found appreciation for people who blog daily (and for copy writing). I don’t even think that I am that good of a “blogger” and this blogging assignment has been a lot of work. Professionals who post and are followed by hundreds of people really have to be on top of their game since other professionals know all the rules of blogging also.

#13 Written on Michelle Blubaugh’s blog about “My Tips for YOU!”

Michelle I could not agree with tip number nine more! This became a challenge for me this semester. Blogging is a lot more work than I thought it was going to be. There are so many challenges to producing an effective blog. The earlier you learn these tips the easier it will be to create your blog. I also really like your step eight for online classes. It is easy to forget about an assignment or put the work off until the last-minute. For anyone taking PRCA Writing in the future I would definitely recommend taking the advice from the current online students. 

#14 Written on Michelle Blubaugh’s blog about “Podcast

Podcast really are a great feature that opens the door not only for public relation’s professional but for speakers all over the world. It amazes me how easy it is to follow a podcast or how easy it is for someone to upload a podcast.

In the podcast that I listened to they also mentioned Twitter. I am learning that Twitter is a lot bigger deal in the public relations industry than I thought it was. I also find it interesting that you said that “34% of users have not yet tweeted since they created their account.” I haven’t really updated my Twitter in a while but it is not that difficult to understand so I don’t know why someone wouldn’t at least try it out.

#15 Written on Tashe Grave’s blog about “Tiger, Tiger, Tiger

I agree that Tiger has been all over the news WAY too much. His mistake has turned into a social controversy that the media just won’t let go. I am glad that Tiger Woods decided to play in the Masters this year because it brought a lot more people to the event. In my Hotel and Restaurant Management class another student reported that the hotels in the surrounding area were struggling to fully fill up until Tiger Woods announced that he would play in the tournament. With the current economic situation Tiger Woods contributed greatly to the economy of Augusta…so thanks for the assistance Tiger Woods! 

#17 Written on Matt Cook’s blog about “My first event set up went great

I work with Emily so I know that you all had put a lot of work into the Communications Career Fair, so I am happy to hear that it went well! With the economy the way it is I’m sure that all 77 individuals greatly appreciated all the employers that came out to the event. You will be happy to know that a mass email was sent out to Communication Arts majors also. And any improvement is an improvement so congratulations on that achievement, I know it must be a relieving though that it is over! What was the most important aspect you learned from planning the event? 

#18 Written on Brigitte Gausche’s blog about “Speeches

Giving a speech to strangers can be a scary experience for many people. I don’t know many people who are thrilled to give a speech. So when reading this chapter I found the “basics of giving a speech” to be of great help. When you’re in the public relations field your speeches need to be as professional as possible and you need to be able to coach your clients on how to properly present their own speeches too! These are some great tips that you pulled out of this chapter. Another tip that I thought was good was to be more specific with the details in your speech- the book says that generalizations get you nowhere.

#19 Written on Kayle Hutchins’s blog about “Kappa Delta supports blood drive

Public relations play a huge role not only in our local Kappa Delta chapter but with our national sorority affiliation. To whoever reads this blog post please come out to the Kappa Delta house this Saturday. The American Red Cross always needs more people to donate blood. Through giving blood at this event you not only are helping save lives but you are helping to remember the lives of these three precious women whose lives were lost over two years ago now. The Kappa Delta house is located on Greek Row and this blood drive is open for anyone to come, not just Greeks.

#20 Written on Kayle Hutchins’s blog about “Twitter

I honestly never thought I would have created a Twitter account and really could not see the value of creating one before our class.  My roommate has a Twitter account due to being in one of Nixon’s previous classes, and because of her love of Twitter, even tried to get me and our other roommate to generate a profile.  But I completely agree with you that Twitter is very beneficial in the public relations field. Not only is it a great way to network but there is a lot of advice that can be found by following certain professionals. Good luck in your tweeting adventures!

#21 Written on Caroline Rawlins’s blog about “Budget Cuts… Where Has All The Concern Gone

Georgia Southern’s public relations professionals definitely had their work cut out for them with the announcement of the budget cuts. It was discussed in all of my classes and students were spreading rooms that certain departments were going to be cut before the official announcement came out. The video was a great way to present the issue. President Keel has had an interesting start to his term here at Georgia Southern. I’m glad I am not in his shoes at the moment. Thanks for adding the ways people can still get involved and you are right what is currently happening with the whole deal?

#22 Written on Caroline Rawlins’s blog about “Toyota… PR Nightmare

I would not like to be a public relations representative for Toyota at all — you couldn’t pay me to do it! It has been an unfortunate year for Toyota as this whole ordeal has blown out of proportion. While there was some car malfunctions If it was another car company I don’t think it would have been made into that big of an ordeal. Since Toyota is known for having reliable cars, this media blowup could strike at the core ideal of their product. I do think Toyota has handled the whole situation relatively well (or at least from what I have heard) and I know that my family who owns four Toyota vehicles will continue to stick with the brand.

#23 Written on Caroline Rawlins’s blog about “Twitter and Celebrities

I never thought about Twitter becoming a place where celebrities are “able to speak on newsworthy topics that they are interested or even involved in without having to wait on their representative.” If I was so cooped up behind my PR representatives permission I would jump on the Twitter bandwagon in a split second. I have heard about celebrities getting in trouble for stuff they post on Twitter though so it makes me wonder if their representatives aren’t following their every Tweet to make sure nothing inappropriate is said. A lot of my friends follow celebrities on Twitter and love getting to hear about their favorite stars’ lives.

#24 Written on Lauren Whitener’s blog about “PR Connection 10

I saw this Burger King commercial and it made no sense to me why they would have an ad that shows them stealing McDonald’s breakfast recipe?!? I understand that they are saying they now serve a breakfast that is compatible with McDonald but still?  I wonder what consumers are thinking and how productive this ad will be.

I hadn’t seen this McDonald’s commercial yet! It’s cute but definitely a new marketing side for their brand too.  With so many great commercials that have played in the past I guess both fast food restaurants have to stretch their creative power in creating new ones.

#25 Written on Lauren Whitener’s blog about “PR Connections 6

It is amazing to see how Facebook has transformed over these past years. I completely agree with you about living on Facebook- unfortunately I have a love/hate relationship with it when I procrastinate doing an assignment because I’m on Facebook. I am interested to see how this whole branding idea will work out or come into play. Facebook is constantly updating their system and look so I am also just interested to see the path Facebook takes over the next 10 years. I wonder if it will still exist or if something else will become the “next big thing” because I feel like Facebook got rid of a lot of MySpace users.

Leave a Reply

